Guitar Serious Fun
Guitar Serious Fun
When You Fail Onstage
0:00
-6:41

When You Fail Onstage

Ep. 108

Have you ever made a mistake onstage while playing your guitar? What’s the best thing to do in the moment, and afterwards? 

I encourage you to catch the video version of this article while it’s available. It takes our discussion to the next level. You can find the video right here:

It’s happened to all of us. We’re playing our guitar in a worship or performance setting, and somehow, we play something differently from how we’ve rehearsed it. And by differently, I mean wrong. It’s clearly not what we planned to play.

So, what do we do? I’ll offer several options for what we can do, and then I’ll let you decide which option is the best course of action. I can’t promise not to “lead the witness,” but I think it’s important to see what the options are. These are six options I can choose when I make a mistake.

#1. Visibly express my disappointment.

Body language is the most powerful form of communication.

So, if I make a mistake and then I…shake my head, frown, smile awkwardly, roll my eyes, or simply look surprised, I’ve just nonverbally communicated to the people I’m serving that I’ve made a mistake.

#2. Ignore the mistake and never speak of it.

This is the extreme opposite. If I know I’ve made a mistake but I not only ignore it, I actually never take time to think through what happened, this doesn’t allow me to benefit from the experience. 

And if I try to convince myself that I haven’t actually made a mistake, I just might be avoiding reality.

#3. Visibly show no response, but internally combust.

Some of us wear our emotions on our sleeves, but others keep them all inside.

If I’m visibly displaying that I’m doing fine, but inwardly, I’m having a conniption because of a mistake I just made, it just might not be the healthiest choice for my emotional or mental state.

#4. Keep thinking about the mistake even while playing the song.

Once a mistake has happened, there can be a temptation to look back at the spot in the chart, or think back to the spot in the song, even as we’re trying to complete the song.

But to use an analogy, if I drive over a bump in the road and I look back at that bump while I keep driving forward, I may encounter even bigger “bumps” ahead, if you know what I mean.

#5. Move on, but beat myself up for weeks or months afterwards.

If I make a mistake, but finish the service or the concert on a strong note, that can be good.

But what if I focus on my mistake, hold it over my head, maybe even apologizing profusely when I talk to my collaborators, the congregation, or members of the audience afterwards?

What if, for weeks or months at a time, I belabor the mistake and keep reminding myself of what happened, speaking self-critically the whole time? Profitable? I don’t think so.

Lastly…

#6. Recover gracefully…but evaluate objectively later.

This last option, if you haven’t already decided for yourself, is my preferred approach, because it’s only by learning from our mistakes that we can truly grow.

Some would say that mistakes are easier to learn from than successes. If we know something worked, but we don’t know exactly why, it can be more difficult to learn from the experience.

However, if we make a mistake, we can examine it from a few different angles objectively, and decide how to better prepare for a similar experience in the future. This will help us avoid making (or at least reduce the possibility of making) the same mistake. 

Having an intentional time set aside, sometimes with fellow team members on what might be called “Honest Monday,” can be a good opportunity.

The key is not to be too hard on ourselves. If we skirt the edge of 100% negative self-talk, it can be pretty damaging. It can even make it hard for us to keep the joy of music alive.

If we can separate ourselves from our musical offerings and be objective enough to say “That was a mistake, and here’s how I plan to avoid it in the future,” this simple approach can be tremendously effective.

The more specific we can be about our recovery strategy, the better. 

If it’s a chord transition, we can work those chords. If it’s a tuning issue, we can practice tuning every time we get ready to play (and this is a great habit for any guitarist.) 

If it’s a tempo issue, we can practice with a steady drummer or percussionist who keeps us honest, or at least practice with a metronome.

And the next level is to play the song (with the challenge spot) for an “audience.”  By the way, have you heard my definition of an audience?  Here it is. 

An audience is: one or more people who are listening, giving their undivided (or even divided) attention, thereby compelling us to finish the song we’re playing.

This puts us under a healthy amount of pressure, much more so than practicing on our own. If you’re having a hard time convincing someone to listen to you play, become your own audience.

Put your smartphone on a tripod, spin it to “selfie” video mode, and hit “record.” The pressure will go up, and the added blessing is that you can go back and watch yourself play.

Hopefully, these insights have given you some tangible strategies, as well as some behaviors to avoid, the next time you make a mistake with your guitar onstage. 

Mistakes are inevitable. But every mistake can be an opportunity to learn and to grow. My hope is that you’ll take those opportunities. Keep showing up, and I’ll see you next time.

Interested in going deeper? Please check out www.GuitarSuccess4U.com.

Thanks for reading Guitar Serious Fun! Subscribe for free to receive new posts and support my work.

Discussion about this podcast

Guitar Serious Fun
Guitar Serious Fun
Playing the guitar is a wonderful way to express how the Lord is moving in our lives. Whether we play for worship, songwriting, or just the enjoyment of music, there is much to talk about when it comes to enriching and enhancing our guitar journeys. Whether philosophical or practical, this is a place where we'll discuss ideas, stories and insights that can equip and inspire you. Welcome to Guitar Serious Fun.